The guardian deity of children of Iwate

The guardian deity of children who put on a bamboo hat.

KASAJIZO かさじぞう

[Iwate:岩手]

 

Once upon a time, the old couple lived in a certain mountain village. 

 

The day of heavy snow and the old man were walking along the way back, being unable to buy food, since a bamboo hat did not sell in a town. 


 

When he found the guardian deity of children who put on snow-hat, the tender-hearted old man put the bamboo hat on the guardian deity of children. 

 

At night, the guardian deity of children appeared in the face of the old couple, and he gave the old couple a lot of money. The old couple bought many delicious foods and lived happily ever after. 


昔々、ある山村に老夫婦が暮らしていました。大雪の日、お爺さんは、町で笠が売れず、食べ物を買うことができないまま、帰り道を歩いていました。雪をかぶったお地蔵様があったので、心優しいお爺さんは、その笠をお地蔵様に被せてあげました。その夜、老夫婦の目の前にお地蔵様が現われて、たくさんお金をくれました。そして老夫婦はたくさん御馳走を買って、ずっと幸せに暮らしました。